Small steps

My first year teaching is REALLY REALLY hard. We are a fledgeling Montessori school, grades 1-7. I have 9 children, almost all of whom have come out of mainstream schools and have ‘issues’.  I have really been struggling to help them develop independence as they are completely unused to this way of working.

Last week, one of my “problem” students had work to do that she was stuck on. I was busy and couldn’t attend immediately, and by the time I got to her, she had chosen other work to do that she could manage on her own. This doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it’s something that I have been working on for six months. A child choosing to keep being productively employed despite a challenge and my lack of attention – that’s an Oh Wow! Montessori moment for me.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

